La Cucina Italiana goes to Camp

June 10, 2013 at 9:28 am 7 comments

La Cucina Italiana display 5-13Food bloggers at Camp Blogaway took home copies of La Cucina Italiana magazine, the ultimate reference for authentic Italian food and cooking in the U.S.  With so much interest in the Mediterranean diet and lifestyle, Italian food is back in the forefront.  On September 12, 2013 I will be teaching a La Cucina Italiana Cooking Class – recipes from this beautiful and inspiring magazine.  Look at what we made in my class last year, Fettuccine with Authentic Italian Walnut Sauce.

My camp sponsors – La Cucina Italiana, Bialetti and California Sun Dry sent me oodles of goodies to bring to camp and I was pleased that campers sampled and enjoyed their products.

Bialetti's I Caffe d"italia Mini Express system

Bialetti’s I Caffe d’Italia Mini Express system

Shannon of Shannon's Shanonigins was first in line to taste the Bialetti espresso.

Shannon of Shannon’s Shanonigins was first in line to taste the Bialetti espresso.

I was especially pleased to see that people were lining up for their espresso fix the minute I set up Bialetti’s new machine, the I Caffe d’Italia Espresso System.  The new Mini Express machine brews an authentic Italian espresso with thick rich crema in less than 15 seconds.  I kept the machine filled with water and the five varieties of capsules all weekend.  I was happy to see the endless parade of campers choose from Mild, Light, Medium, Bold and Decaf Roast in between breaks from our program.   The look on their faces when they tasted the brew said it all – pure pleasure!

Jennifer Farley of Savory Simple accepts the Bialetti machine for winner, Chung-Ah Rhee of Damn Delicious.

Jennifer Farley of Savory Simple accepts the Bialetti machine for winner, Chung-Ah Rhee of Damn Delicious.

At the end of the weekend, Chung-Ah Rhee from damn_delicious won the Mini Express machine and leftover espresso capsules to take home.  She tells me that “It is the best machine I have ever had! The boyfriend and I have been making
espressos/lattes constantly.”

California Sun Dry Julienne Tomatoes were a huge hit at camp!

California Sun Dry Julienne Tomatoes were a huge hit at camp!

California Sun Dry package the freshest California grown sun-dried tomato products. Their line includes pouches of julienne and halves to bottled products in oil, a salsa, pesto and spread. Campers took home julienne cut tomatoes to try out in their recipes.  I’ve been adding these julienne tomatoes to everything in sight at my house – quesadillas, salads, pizza, pasta, my Chobani Sundaes. They are so delicious, I could snack on them like candy – sweet, full of flavor and good for you.  I learned that sun-dried tomatoes have ounce for ounce, twelve times the amount of Lycopene of a raw tomato.  Lycopene, is an antioxidant…a superfood which benefits prostrate health and prevention of cancer.

Christine of Cristina'sCucina.com represented DeCecco.

Christina of CristinasCucina.com represented DeCecco.

La Cucina Italiana advertiser, DeCecco, was featured at Camp Blogaway by new friend, Christina Conte of Christina’s Cucina, who writes about all things Italian.  I love their pasta and I got to take home a box of DeCecco Rigatoni.  I haven’t decided what to make with it yet.   Perhaps a new pasta dish with California Sun Dry tomatoes.

I represent La Cucina Italiana to advertisers in the western states.  I am also proud to be a La Cucina Italiana Blogger Ambassador and receive news and invitations about all things Italian.  If you would like to become a La Cucina Italiana Blogger Ambassador, contact jfusco@lcimag.com.  I aspire to have my food photos look as good as the ones in La Cucina Italiana – mouth watering, delicious authentic recipes that I love to test out in my Fresh Food in a Flash kitchen.

Entry filed under: Events, Food, Food Blog, Italian, La Cucina Italiana, WordPress. Tags: , , .

New Blush Celery debuts at Camp Blogaway Summer Garden & Grilling Cooking Class – July 25, 2013

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christina  |  June 10, 2013 at 1:38 pm

    Great post, and thanks for adding my pic with the De Cecco pasta/products! It was such a fun time! I’m definitely sending in a recipe to La Cucina Italiana! My biggest problem is narrowing down all the choices!!

    Like

    Reply
    • 2. Fresh Food in a Flash  |  June 10, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      Christina – Cute photo of you! Happy to promote all things Italian along with you. Love DeCecco and your blog too. Glad you are a La Cucina Italiana Blogger Ambassador!

      Like

      Reply
  • 3. daisy | daisysworld.net  |  June 10, 2013 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks for the pasta and sun- dried tomatoes. It’ll make a great dinner sometime soon. Wasn’t Camp Blogaway fun and informational?

    daisy

    Like

    Reply
    • 4. Fresh Food in a Flash  |  June 10, 2013 at 2:06 pm

      Daisy – Can’t wait to see what you make with the pasta/sun-dried tomato combo and the beautiful photos you will take. It was fun hanging out with you at Camp Blogaway!

      Like

      Reply
  • 5. Pleadings & Pasta  |  June 17, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    This looks great! What does being a La Cucina Italiana Blogger Ambassador entail?

    Like

    Reply
    • 6. Fresh Food in a Flash  |  June 17, 2013 at 8:53 pm

      Being a La Cucina Italiana Blogger Ambassador means that you are open to receiving invitations to La Cucina Italiana events and occasional updates.

      Like

      Reply
      • 7. Pleadings & Pasta  |  June 17, 2013 at 8:55 pm

        Sounds great, thanks for the quick response!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to get more Fresh Food in a Flash posts.

Patricia K. Rose

I am a Chef, Cooking Teacher and Food Blogger. Learn how to create delicious and healthy food in a FLASH.

Recent Posts

Categories

October Unprocessed 2012
October Unprocessed 2013
Camp

